All products Blues Classic R&B Classical Country Dance Film Music Folk Funk gospel Grunge Heavy metal Heavy Rock Hip Hop Indie Jazz Opera Pop Punk Reggae Rock Soul
top of page

Night is the New Day’ was Katatonia’s eighth studio album, recorded throughout July 2009 & was co-produced, engineered and mixed by David Castillo.

An extension of the heaviness, depth and atmosphere featured on their previous outing, ‘Night Is the New Day’ was also a more dynamic effort - moving between prog grandeur, ambient melancholy, folk delicacy & the classic melodic anthems that are the staple of Katatonia’s uncompromising sound, completed by the haunting tones of Jonas Renkse’s vocal journeys of urban & emotional decay.

The artwork appears courtesy of long-time collaborator Travis Smith (Katatonia, Opeth, Novembre).

Formed in 1991 by Anders Nyström and Jonas Renske their debut album, ‘Dance of December Souls’, was released in 1993, gaining the band recognition for their eclectic brand of gothic doom/death metal and joining acts such as Paradise Lost and My Dying Bride as one of the genre’s defining bands. On future albums a newer, sleeker Katatonia sound came to the fore, starting with a streamlined and structured collection of melodic dark rock songs that became third album ‘Discouraged Ones’; the main evolution points for modern day Katatonia.

This edition of 'Night is the New Day' appears on mid-price CD, with 12-page booklet.


    bottom of page